Spawn – The Recall : A Impressive Stylized Film Hardcore Fans Will Love

Spawn -The Recall

I actually wasn’t looking to watch a short film today. But this one was posted on IGN this morning and curiosity got the best of me. It’s a fan film based on the Spawn comic. Its called Spawn : Total Recall and is directed by Micheal Paris.

So what it is about? Well it’s based on Spawn, which I know very little about. I never read it and I think I saw a piece of a Spawn movie as a little kid. But Wikipedia says he’s a guy who died and went to hell and came back to Earth as a demon to fight evil. Or at least its something like that. You’re free to correct me in the comments if I’m completely wrong. Anyways with my pitiful attempt to provide a backstory, the film follows a mother and son in a grocery store. The son disappears in what appears to be another dimension. His worried sick mother is pulled into the world to find her son. There they encounter the demonic character of Spawn.

So the good? It’s a made film with good light and a distinctive style. Though its heavy on computer animation, it is a pretty film. It looks like it was made it look like a scene pulled out of a comic strip at times, which is beautiful.

The bad? The sound of the film is quiet. All of it is except for Spawn himself which is very. The volume of the people and demon should have been on the same volume, so I won’t have to adjust the volume so much as I watch it. Also it seemed goofy at parts. Especially with the demonic carnival barker voice that lured the boy into the netherworld. It does seem corny at times too

Overall, I did not get a lot from the film. I know so little about the comic book, so I didn’t find anything epic here. I felt it was made for diehard fans more than anything else. It’s not bad. It’s a well-made film with a great style. It’s just wasn’t for me.

2 flicks out of four

Overall Rating: A Impressive Stylized Film Hardcore Fans Will Love

Heres the film below if you wamt to check it out.

P.S. If you like books then check out my book and ebook website Lelue’s Realm. Google it or go directly to http://www.freewebs.com/lelue/

Leave a comment